Mayland Community College LogoMayland Community College Logo

ADN Questions & Answers

When do I need to apply?

The open application period is Sept 1 – Mar 1 and late application period is Apr 15 – May 15,
When will I find out if I have been accepted?

Are there any time limits for prerequisites?

Yes, math credits are good for 10 years, all science courses are good for 7 years.

What amount of time should I dedicate to the program once accepted?

Students typically spend 25+ hours a week outside of class and clinical.

Can I work while completing the program? attend part-time?

Working is #1 reason students are not successful in nursing programs. Students are encouraged to obtain financial aid, apply for scholarships, and work the least amount possible.

How many days a week are classes held?

Usually three. Theory classes are usually two days per week and one day a week at clinical.

Where are classes and clinicals held?

Classes and labs are on the Mitchell campus only. Clinical sites include:

  • Watauga Medical Center
  • Cannon Memorial Hospital
  • Blue Ridge Regional Hospital
  • McDowell Hospital
  • Grace Hospital
  • Broughton Hospital
  • Johnson City Medical Center
  • Sycamore Shoals Hospital

When will I find out if I have been accepted?

Applicants that applied during the regular application period will be notified by mid-March; late applicants are notified by the end of May.

If I am not accepted, can I re-apply?

Yes, there is no penalty to re-apply. You can also work with the Health Sciences advisor to adjust your plan. Not being accepted doesn’t mean you will never be a nurse, most students take this opportunity to improve their study skills, increase their GPA, and possibly complete additional courses to apply to their BSN.

How do I know what classes to take for the ADN program?

Upon admission to MCC you will be assigned an advisor. You can meet with your advisor by making an appointment. During your appointment, your advisor will review your status and discuss your options with you. Advisors are also available during each open registration period and can help you in making your course selections.

What type of CPR certification is required?

Clinical facilities will only accept Basic Life Support (BLS) from American Heart Association (AHA). Nursing faculty teach a course at the beginning of the fall and spring semesters. Students who do not have current AHA BLS can take the course at the beginning of the semester and submit the documentation after the course prior to attending clinical.

What are some ways I can get involved with the community once I am in the program?

Nursing students participate in many community activities, both in class and through the Student Nurse Association. Recent events have included participation at local health department vaccine clinics, Child Fest, and senior support projects.

Can I get a Bachelor Degree after I get my Associate Degree in Nursing?

Yes. The Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing Articulation Agreement (RN to BSN AA) enables students to complete three academic years of nursing education that is transferable to all eleven institutions of the University of North Carolina that operate RN to BSN Programs:

  • Appalachian State University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • East Carolina University
  • North Carolina Agricultural & Technical University
  • North Carolina Central University
  • UNC-Charlotte
  • UNC-Greensboro
  • UNC-Pembroke
  • UNC-Wilmington
  • Western Carolina University
  • Winston-Salem University
magnifiercrossmenu