MCC Board of Trustees celebrated Avery community members and alumni at Founders' Day

July 2018

Mayland Community College Board of Trustees celebrated community members and alumni who go above and beyond in their work. Trustee members, as well as MCC President Dr. John Boyd, honored individuals during the College’s annual Founders’ Day event.

Pictured during MCC’s Founders’ Day event from left to right are Avery County citizenship award recipient Richard Larson and MCC Foundation Executive Director Margaret Earley-Thiele.

 The citizenship award is presented to a community member who has shown outstanding support and encouragement to their community. The 2018 Avery County recipient was Richard Larson who lives with his wife, Carol, in Banner Elk. They have a son, Christopher. Larson has served in many professions including USMC Pilot, surgeon, and furniture maker. Currently, he serves as Executive Director of Feeding Avery Families.  Larson is very committed to his community and is a member of the Banner Elk Chamber of Commerce, Avery County Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Avery, Helping Avery- Nonprofit Council, and Banner Elk Artists Gallery. He is an active member of the Banner Elk Presbyterian Church and has a heart for feeding the hungry.

Pictured during MCC’s Founders’ Day event from left to right are alumni award recipient Ethan Sluder’s father Kim who accepted the award on his behalf, and MCC Foundation Executive Director Margaret Earley-Thiele.

The MCC Avery County Alumni award was presented to Ethan Sluder who graduated from MCC with a certificate in Welding and Horticulture in 2010 and also received his Associates in Horticulture in 2013. Sluder works as a Lineman at Blue Ridge Energy in Lenoir. Sluder was a member of the national Honor Society, National Tech. Honor Society, and was voted Best All Around in Lineman School. He is married to Amber and is expecting his first child in October. He also served nine years as a volunteer Fireman and enjoys spending time outdoors.

The President’s Award was presented to Becky Anderson and Paul O’Connell who have proved that leading by example makes a stronger community.

Other alumni recognized was Julia Silvers and Travis Wynkoop. Other distinguished citizens recognized included John and Scottie Wellborn and Jamie McMahan.