Annual Fund and Board of Directors


People holding hands

The Foundation Mission

The mission of the Mayland Community College Foundation is to support, strengthen, and advance the work of Mayland Community College.

Annual Fund

The MCC Foundation Annual Fund, not only helps keep the Foundation running, but goes towards specific projects, chosen annually by the Board of Directors. For the 2021-2022 fiscal year, the Board has identified Recruitment and Retention Strategies and Student Scholarships as ongoing projects for which additional funding is always needed.

 All contributions, of any amount, make a BIG impact! All donors will receive recognition on our Annual Fund Donor Wall located in the lobby of the Samuel Phillips Building.

Annual Fund Goals

  • Operating Expense: $33,000
  • Scholarships: $30,000
  • Recruitment & Retention – $20,000
  • Total: $83,000

 Donate TODAY to support Mayland Community College Students through the 2021-2022 Annual Fund!

Donate Now Button

MCC Foundation Board of Directors


The MCC Foundation is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization whose mission is to support, strengthen, and advance the work of Mayland Community College. Volunteers from the College’s service area and beyond serve on the Foundation Board of Directors to raise funds and cultivate friends for the College. Their efforts are evident in special projects at the College, events in the community, scholarships for students, and various capital projects.

Current Board of Directors:

Mr. Charles Bierbauer, Mitchell County

Dr. John Boyd, MCC President

Ms. Amanda Buchanan, VP Administrative Services, MCC

Ms. Nancy Burleson, Trustee Representative, Mitchell County

Mr. Jeff Davis, Avery County

Ms. Margaret Earley-Thiele, Executive Director, MCC Foundation

Mr. Elliott Grosh, Yancey County

Ms. Linda Larson, Vice-President, Yancey County

Ms. Brywn Philips, President, Yancey County

Ms. Wanda Proffitt, Trustee Representative, Yancey County

Mr. Scott Reece, Mitchell County

Ms. Suzanne Russell, Mitchell County

Ms. Edwina Sluder, Trustee Representative, Avery County

Mr. Claude Smith, At Large Representative

Ms. Julie Weatherman, Yancey County


MCC Foundation Policies and By-Laws

MCC Foundation By-laws

Conflict of Interest

Financial Management Policy

Fundraising Policy

Donor Bill of Rights

Gift Acceptance Policy

Investment Policy