MCC Foundation Board of Directors/Mission

MCC Foundation Mission

The mission of the Mayland Community College Foundation is to support, strengthen, and advance the work of Mayland Community College.

MCC Foundation Board of Directors

foundation board

Pictured are (l-r, back): Tim Greene, David Strawn, Al Folcher, Dr. John Boyd, Claude Smith (chair), Nancy Burleson, Jesse Pope and Margaret Earley-Thiele (l-r, front) Sally Folcher, Wanda Proffitt, Brywn Philips, and Bonnie Schmink.

The MCC Foundation is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization whose mission is to support, strengthen, and advance the work of Mayland Community College. Volunteers from the College’s service area and beyond serve on the Foundation Board of Directors to raise funds and cultivate friends for the College. Their efforts are evident in special projects at the College, events in the community, scholarships for students, and various capital projects.

Currently Serving:

Ms. Mary Ballew, Mitchell County Emeritus
Ms. Elaine Boone, Yancey County
Dr. John Boyd, MCC President
Mrs. Nancy Burleson, Trustee Representative, Mitchell County
Mr. Jeff Davis, Avery County
Ms. Margaret Earley-Thiele, Executive Director, Mayland Community College Foundation
Mr. Albert G. Folcher, Jr., Yancey County
Ms. Sally Folcher, Yancey County
Mr. Tim Greene, VP, Administrative Services
Ms. Martha Guy, Avery County
Ms. Jasmine McKinney, Mitchell County
Ms. Julia Norris, Trustee Representative, Yancey County
Mrs. Brywn Philips, Yancey County
Mr. Jesse Pope, Avery County
Ms. Wanda Proffitt, Yancey County
Ms. Bonnie Schmink, Mitchell County
Mr. Claude Smith, President, At Large Representative
Mr. Fred Stout, Trustee Representative, Avery County
Mr. David Strawn, Yancey County