MCC hosts Founders' Day event

September 2015

Mayland Community College Board of Trustees celebrated community members and alumni who have went above and beyond in their work. Board members honored individuals during the College’s Founders’ Day event in September.

Pictured from left to right are MCC Trustee award recipients Thomas Pittman, MCC Trustee chair Edwina Sluder, and Fred Stout.

The citizenship award is presented to a community member who has shown outstanding support and encouragement to their community. The 2015 Avery County recipient was Fred Stout, who previously served on MCC’s Board of Trustees. Stout served in the US Army and has continued to honor military personnel by volunteering as the VFW Post 4286 Chaplin and participating in over 100 military funerals. He is currently a board member for the Sam Phillips Foundation, serves as an elder at Walnut Grove Presbyterian Church, and has been an instructor at MCC. Stout enjoys jewelry making, woodworking, fishing, and spending time with his seven grandchildren and three great grandchildren.

The Mayland Community College Mitchell County Alumni award was presented to Thomas Pittman. After graduating with his Associate in Arts degree from MCC, he continued his education at Appalachian State University studying accounting, banking and finance, and supply chain management. Pittman currently works for Pittman Trucking as a yard foreman, dispatcher, truck driver and forklift operator. He is the leader of the Young Adult Mission Community at Minneapolis Baptist church and enjoys watching college basketball, antique truck shows and playing card games.  

 Pictured from left to right are MCC Trustee award recipients Shirley Hise, MCC Board member R.L. Hoilman, and Andrea Gentry.

The 2015 Mitchell County recipient was Shirley Hise who served her community as a high school teacher, earning her National Board Certification, until retirement. After leaving the educational field, Hise became the director for the Mitchell County Chamber leading many community events and helping support the businesses in the area. She also works with the Mitchell County Economic Development Board, worked with Advantage West, Rural Health Partnership and served as a board member for the North Carolina School of Science and Math. She also enjoys spending time with her family, especially grandsons Thomas and Deren Hise.

The Mayland Community College Mitchell County Alumni award was presented to Andrea Gentry. She completed her Associate of Applied Science degree in Nursing at MCC and continued to Lees McRae College for her Bachelors of Science in Nursing. Gentry obtained her national certification as a Certified Nurse in the Operating Room and plans to continue her education and earn a Master’s Degree in Nursing. Gentry serves as a board member of the High Country Youth Ballet and is a strong supporter of programs offered at Appalachian Dance Theatre. She is a wife to Chris and mother to Cassidy, Chanlee and Landrie. 

Pictured from left to right are MCC Board member Julia Norris, MCC Trustee award recipients Elaine Boone, Corey Robinson, and David Boone.

The 2015 Yancey County recipients were David and Elaine Boone. The couple have been instrumental community members. David served in the US Army, and is an accomplished artist. He is presently a member of the Caricature Carvers of America, Southern Highland Handicraft Guild, National Woodcarvers of America and the Burnsville Masonic Lodge. Elaine is a MCC Foundation Board member, Trustee for the NC Center for Advancement of Teaching, and President of the Yancey County History Association.

The Mayland Community College Yancey County Alumni award was presented to Corey Robinson. She completed her Medical Assisting degree at MCC is currently a certified medical assistant at the Celo Health Center. While at MCC, Robinson served on the Student Government Association in the roles of treasurer, vice president and president. She also was an honor student, received numerous scholarships and was nominated for the Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award. Robinson is a member of the American Association of Medical Assistants. She is the wife of Brian and mother of Macy.

Pictured are Bill Baker and Wanda Proffitt.

The President’s Award was presented to Dr. William Anspach, Jr. for his inspiration, vision, and financial contributions to make MCC’s new Anspach Advanced Manufacturing School a reality. Dr. Anspach was an entrepreneur at a young age and grew his love for business and working with tools into a successful health care related enterprise. Dr. Anspach used his creative mind  and knowledge as an orthopedic surgeon to establish The Anspach Effort, a company that designed and manufactured stainless steel surgical power tools. The Anspach Effort evolved from surgical-powered instruments of metal and cement cutting tools for orthopedic surgeons to instruments for very difficult intracranial and spinal procedures for neurosurgeons and later more health care related tools. In total, the Anspach Effort had approximately 26 patents, and was eventually sold to the Johnson and Johnson Company. The award was accepted on behalf of Dr. Anspach by family friend Bill Baker. 

Pictured are Julia Norris and Wanda Proffitt.

Foundation Board member Wanda Proffitt presented the Founder’s Award in memory of Yancey County Mayor Mark Bennett who was a member of Mayland’s founding Board of Trustees and served for 16 years as well as served as a NC State Representative for three terms. Bennett believed in education and recognized the benefits it provided for the community. He also served on the Yancey County Board of Education for 14. His personal friendships and connections with local, state and federal elected officials were critical to Yancey County’s development in the 1980s and early 1990s. Bennett was marred to Lib, and was the father of Julia, Bunny and Mark, Jr. Bennett’s daughter Julia Norris accepted the award in his honor.